Help! I’m Drowning in ‘Can’t’!

My Inspiration

Writing is the most difficult thing I’ve ever done, not because of the initial writing but because of the endless rewriting to polish that book into a best seller.  Keeping on task requires much of my daily energy and I often don’t make it.  When the don’t want to mood struck this week, I went looking at other writers’ websites and blogs.  They, too, have the same trouble but wrote about how to conquer that laziness.

Check out Karen Kachra’s ten points for probing thoughts on the subject.

And after you’ve done that, go to Joan Swan’s article about getting through the rough spots after you’ve sold your novel.

Both of these authors write from experience; their words are well worth reading.  And now that I’ve written this, I must get back to my novel rewrite!

3 thoughts on “Help! I’m Drowning in ‘Can’t’!

  1. Elaine, it’s an epidemic! Check out Margie Lawson’s Defeat Self-Defeating Behaviours lecture package. It’s one of the best tools I’ve seen to combat the can’ts.
    I’m having a brain freeze, but think you may know about this already.
    Good luck!!!

    Like

  2. Elaine!

    I’ve finally clued in to what I’d missed so many times on fellow writer’s blogs – the subscribe button. I’ll never fall behind reading your posts again.

    I always relate to your topics, be they on writing, family, travel, life in general. But –

    How incredibly cool to tune in today and find a link to Joan Swan, who I met in Colorado last September. Our circle grows!

    Keep writing,

    Sherry

    Like

Leave a Reply

