Five Reasons to Write a Book

Those should I or shouldn’t I quandaries are well-known to us all. Should I take/quit this job? Would I make more money if I were a stripper?(Just kidding). Should I date the office clown? (Still kidding.)  And we take a long time making up our minds on most of them.

A logical way to decide what to do is to make lists of good points and bad points. When you see your thoughts lined up in columns, the decision becomes easy. Sometimes I’ve found that all the points are in only one column. When I was Assistant Head of English in my high school, I did this and found all of the reasons to move on or not were in one column. The only thing in the ‘keep the job’ column was the prestige. Well, that wasn’t enough. I resigned the next day and moved on.

Here are my five best reasons to write my historical novel:
1. I love to put words on a page and take any chance I can to write.
2. Setting a giant challenge for myself really makes me alive.
3. I have the time, computer equipment and family support.
4. Seeing my very own cover sitting on my shelf delights me.
5. Research, both on the computer and by traveling to actual sites, is rewarding and just plain fun.

The deciding factor was my son saying “If not now, when?”.

Indeed.

 

6 thoughts on “Five Reasons to Write a Book

  1. So true, Elaine, I’m with you on that list. I think writing a sell-able novel is such a learning process that if we didn’t love it, we would give up. I’ve always been a daydreamer/fantasizer, and I wonder if all writers are the same. I’m quite happy living in my own head with my characters. This is another aspect I love about writing!

    Like

  2. Ruth, you are so right. Those characters just want to sing out their stories. Thanks for adding that one.
    Sharon, you always bring me back to the joy of it all. For me, there is nothing so satisfying as getting my thoughts down on paper and having my characters insist on telling the story their way. I am so ready to start book two of my Loyalist series.

    Like

  3. Elaine, how brave of you! Prestige is huge, and so is risk. It takes a lot of guts to take a less-travelled, uncertain road and step away from security and the familiar.
    I was at a conference years ago. The speaker told us a story of how hunters trapped chimpanzees for zoos, pets and whatnot. They put a banana in a little cage. The chimp could easily slip his hand in and out of the cage, but the banana was too long. All the hunter had to do was walk up to the chimp and pick him up. All the little guy had to do to avoid capture was let go of the banana. He was trapped because he refused to let go.
    So, here it to letting go of your banana!

    Like

  4. Elaine, great post and reminds me why I can’t put down this WIP (or two unsold mss awaiting rewrite now that I’ve been MARGIEized).

    When a scene doesn’t work, it’s typically because I’m trying too hard to be writerly. I have to stop, close my eyes and think “I am Molly(my protag), this is where I am and what has just happened. How do I respond?”

    DH doesn’t ‘get’ why a 2 second interruption can set me back 30 minutes. Non-writers likely think we’re off our meds when we say we’re getting in our character’s head.

    I’ve learned to know you through awesome CP and writing buddy, Sherry. Hope to meet you in late August when Storyteller launches. I am SO going to finagle the funds to be there.

    It’s a shame I’ll miss some of the Texas August heat, but these are the sacrifices we make.

    Like

  5. Sherry and Gloria, I am so thrilled you have responded to my blog. I feel a little presumptuous listing my five reasons but a little redeemed with all the commiserating comments. So great to hear from you both. This online community stuff is reassuring and rewarding, for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

