Christmas Meme??? I’ve Been Tagged!

I’ve been tagged by the vivacious writer, Jessica Aspen, to answer some Holiday Questions. Since I’ve finally started my shopping and the rain outside isn’t very Christmasy, I’m going to use this post as a mood enhancer.  So here goes! A Christmas Meme.

meme (play /ˈmm/[1]) is “an idea, behaviour or style that spreads from person to person within a culture.”[2]  A meme acts as a unit for carrying cultural ideas, symbols or practices, which can be transmitted from one mind to another through writing, speech, gestures, rituals or other imitable phenomena. Supporters of the concept regard memes as cultural analogues to genes in that they self-replicate, mutate and respond to selective pressures.[3] Source: Wikipedia

Please feel free to copy these questions and answer them on your blog. This is a Christmas meme.  If you do want to play along, leave a link in the comments section. We’d love to read your Christmas interview answers! TAG–> YOU’RE IT!

I’m going to personally tag some terrific people: Sharon Clare, Sherry Isaac and Vicki Noels-Cornish. Tag…. you’re it!

Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?
I like them both but drink hot chocolate far more.  Don’t know who ever thought that making it with water was a substitute for the real thing.  On my Keurig, I first microwave about 2/3 c. milk, put the mug under the Keurig and turn it on with hot chocolate in the slot.  Best of both worlds, I think.
Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?
Santa?  Who’s that?  It’s been many a frosty, starlit night since Santa visited.  Now hubby, he wraps.  And nice things, too.
Coloured lights on tree/house or white?
We have a tree with white lights but I put ribbons and balls in a burgundy theme all over the tree.  Love doing that every year.
Do you hang mistletoe?
No.  Haven’t for years.  Who needs it?

When do you put your decorations up?
Early in November I start decorating.  I like all the hype leading up to Christmas and love getting the house festive.  After the holiday, sometimes I don’t wait till New Years to put it all away again.

What is your favourite holiday dish?
This is a toughie for me, too, but I love my Christmas cake and carrot pudding traditions.  They are left over from my childhood and always bring back memories of a happy house filled with relatives and laughter.  My mother’s dark Christmas cake is a favorite of my husband’s, too.  One year when I was making it, I started to sing a brand new Christmas song, ran to my piano and jotted down the basics.  As I baked that year I created a joyful memory piece about my own Christmases past.  And then I sang it the next day, a cappella, as I hadn’t had time to write the accompaniment, for our church ladies’ group, for whom I was performing.

Favourite Holiday memory as a child?
I was the Virgin Mary when I was nine and my newborn sister was the baby Jesus.  I got to hold her in my arms while I sang O Little Town of Bethlehem in our country school-house Christmas concert for all the parents.

When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?
What truth?

Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?
My husband’s mother always wanted to open everything that night.  Now that she’s gone, I tease him with saying I want to open my gifts and sometimes we do.  It just depends on what Christmas Day is like.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?
We put on Christmas music, drag the boxes of treasures from the basement and fondle each ornament as we find just the perfect place for it.  Often my husband helps with setting up the tree and leaves me to enjoy the rest.  I think I’m a little particular about how they go on the tree!

Snow! Love it or Dread it?
I love it! I do complain about the cold, but the truth is I love to see it come down every year. We live in Ontario, so we get a fair amount. IN FACT it’s snowing right now.

Can you ice skate?
Yes, although not as well as I used to.  My family grew up figure skating and here is a link to a post I wrote about it a few years ago.

Do you remember your favourite gift?
Without a doubt the engagement ring I received a zillion years ago from my still-favorite man, to whom I’m still happily married. 🙂

What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you?
I love the happy feeling in the air whenever I see friends and family.  There is just an extra bounce in our steps at Christmas.

What is your favourite Holiday Dessert?
So many!  Shortbread, carrot pudding, and homemade mincemeat pie.  Wouldn’t be Christmas without them!

What is your favourite holiday tradition?
I like our family Boxing Day get-together, a tradition that has transcended my childhood, and lives on with my wonderful siblings, kids, grandkids, and all friends who are available to come.  There is amazing singing of carols and playing of games.  One year we had an unforgettable impromptu sing-along with songs from Messiah (which many of us knew by heart), The Sound of Music (our family had performed it in the 80s) and every Christmas carol we could possibly think of.  We are singers, my family and I, and we love to make music together.

What tops your tree?
Should be an angel but she is so magnificent, she almost topples the tree.  Now we put her on the piano to glisten and glow right next to the tree.

Which do you prefer giving or receiving?
I love to watch my family open the things I’ve prepared for them, whether homemade or store-bought.  The joy on their faces is always my best gift. Sometimes I get so caught up in watching them, I forget to open my own until someone reminds me.  It’s all good.

What is your favourite Christmas Song?
O Holy Night is my favorite but only when sung by people who can actually do the high stuff.  A high soprano, I sang it at our school Christmas assembly the first year I was teaching secondary.  1500 shuffling, whispering students actually stopped and listened as I brought out the magnificent crescendos and incomparable joy of that song.  I will never forget my feeling of absolute ecstasy during that performance.  Oh, and Sandy Patti absolutely rocks it, don’t you know!

Candy Canes: Yuck or Yum?
Did I forget to tell you about the Charlie Brown Candy Canes. I recycle. They keep, don’t they? From year to year I just stick the same ones on. Hey, don’t eat the candy on the tree,  go for the bowl instead.

Favourite Christmas Show?
We have a number of favorites:  the original Christmas Carol with that awesome curmudgeonly Scrooge, Holiday Inn, White Christmas, Miracle on 34th Street and the original Walton’s one with Patrician Neal.  Finally, we like Jimmy Stewart’s It’s a Wonderful Life.  I know, I know, they’re all pretty old, but the newer ones somehow miss the heart and put in too much silly for me.

Saddest Christmas Song
Can’t think of one.  I’m too happy a person!

I’d like to wish you all a wonderful Christmas or whatever your holiday tradition celebrates.  Take time to appreciate the good around you.  And feel free to pass on this Christmas meme to your blog buddies.  All best.

12 thoughts on “Christmas Meme??? I’ve Been Tagged!

  1. Pingback: A lot of what I think about Christmas « Shades of Bliss

  2. Oh Elaine, I’m late to the party. So sorry. But I would love to find out more about these delicious recipes you keep talking about. Maybe it’s not being Canadian, but I’ve never heard of carrot pudding or dark Christmas cake. MMM. My family loves mincemeat, but they buy it in a jar. I bet yours is a more detailed recipe. Christmas at your house sounds lovely!

    Like

  3. The party doesn’t start without you, Jess!
    Carrot pudding is loaded with raisins, nuts, currants and, of course, grated potatoes and carrots. Sounds crazy, I know, but it’s great and is covered with homemade caramel sauce which is lovingly made each year. Dark Christmas cake is full of nuts, dates, raisins, currants, and mixed fruit as well as glace cherries. The thing that makes it dark is molasses. Both these recipes come from many years ago and their ingredients show it.
    As for mincemeat, I’ve never made my own, either. I get it from the store and make homemade pie crust for mincemeat pie. Yummy!
    Ok, now that I’m hungry, I think I’ll do something to take my mind off all these sweet things.!

    Like

Leave a Reply

