3 Things For Which I, as a Writer, am Thankful

Thanksgiving in Canada

On this lovely November day when our Canadian Thanksgiving is long past for this year, I pause to think of all the notices I’ve received about the American Thanksgiving. And I am thankful for my writer’s life.

While there are many aspects of writing which I love  (and a few I don’t!), here are three jewels in my writing life.

  1. First and foremost, the absolute JOY of feeling  wondrous words tumbling off the ends of my fingers and forming themselves into settings and scenes, into people and problems, and into worlds until now undiscovered. Sometimes I feel like an explorer paddling up the French River in this wonderful ‘new world’ here in Canada. And I see the curve in the distance and wonder what I will find there.
  2. Second, the Internet world which, as much as those early rivers and oceans, teems with not fish but writers, and readers, and writers, and editors, and writers, and agents, and more writers. And I have learned so much from all of these people: LinkedIn writing-oriented groups, Twitter similar groups and followers, Facebook folk, and even a few Google+ hardy writing souls.
  3. Third, my writing friends, most of whom, I know in person. Conferences, workshops, and chance happenings have all contributed to my lovely list of like-minded writing friends. I treasure them all, for what they teach me, for their varied views across the conference table, and for knowing that these other amazing, intuitive, struggling writers really understand my frustrations. And my joys.

And so I am thankful for the American Thanksgiving added to my Canadian one. In so doing it gives me twice the time to contemplate my life.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Note To Self: Remember to put titles on my posts before publishing them as they just don’t work so well without. Last week’s guest post with the amazing Barbara Kyle went out first without my title. Dah! If you missed it, here is the link.

Consider leaving a comment on writing, on living in a country other than the United States, or on anything prompted by this post.

14 thoughts on “3 Things For Which I, as a Writer, am Thankful

  1. What a great post Elaine! I share the things you’re thankful for, and due to my love of food and a past life in the US, I also celebrate the food aspect! (Can always count on me to figure out how to have an extra reason to have a big meal!!)

    Like

  2. Elaine, I love Thanksgiving posts. I try to take a moment for thankfulness every morning, naming five things. Some days I fall out of the habit, other days, it’s hard to stop at only five!

    Like

  3. What a terrific list to be thankful for. I’m thankful for all my internet friends, my opportunity to write, and pie. Must mention the pie. 🙂 I see no reason why we can’t celebrate Thanksgiving twice. Great idea, Elaine!

    Like

  4. Hi,
    Like you, I celebrate the German Thanksgiving in October, and then the U.S. Thanksgiving in November. Each of these days is a day where I sit back and reflect on all of the things that have happened during the year that follow up to Thanksgiving Day. I am always amazed at my review. Situations and problems that hit me in the face and scared me out of my wit have become small. I have learned how to deal with them, and I have done what I had to do. Thus, both of those Thanksgiving Days often show me how much I underestimated myself and my own strength. They open my eyes to a fact that anything I start with a fervent desire to complete it usually happens, and for that insight, I am truly thankful. But most important, both days show me that I have so many desires and goals that I have not yet accomplished and these things keep me moving ahead.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Elaine! I hope you had an enjoyable one. Your article was truly delightful.

    Ciao,
    Patricia

    Like

  5. Lovely post, Elaine. I have many writing friends in the states too and it was great to revisit Thanksgiving through their eyes. I feel so very thankful I get to write part-time and pursue my dream to make it a full-time endeavor. Like you, I’m also thankful for the many writers in my life and you are one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

