Have You Ever Heard a Great Story?

photo (9)-45_editedMost of us talk about reading books, watching movies, or attending plays. We know what the verb is that fits best with each activity; in fact, we know it so well, we don’t even have to think about it.

Reading books. That phrase just hangs together as naturally as drinking milk or licking a lollipop.

There are, however, times when we want the distraction or the excitement of a book when we just cannot read, such as when driving in a car. Listening to the radio puts us at the mercy of whatever stations are available as we drive along and especially on a long trip the stations keep fading out as we leave their signal area.

Some of us resort to CD’s or iPods or the like. Then there are the rest of us. We think hitting the open road is a marvelous time for an audiobook.

For a recent trip to South Carolina, my husband and I hit the library the night before leaving and picked up Bernard Cornwell’s The Last Kingdom. We fell in love with listening. No matter who was driving over those two days we would decide to pick up where we left off in the story. The miles simply slipped away as did the time. I usually drive for two hours and the last half hour I am always looking at my watch.

Not this time.

As I’ve mentioned before on this blog, we loved listening to a good book. So, of course, my writer’s brain began to go off on tangents asking questions.

7 Questions Related to Audio Books:

  1. How hard is it to read a whole book for a recording?
  2. Do actors do this or is this a special niche job?
  3. What is the percentage of published books that make it into the audio book category?
  4. Is there a genre or book length that works better?
  5. Is creating an audio book something that is only done by renowned authors through their publishers or is the process easily accessible by any author?
  6. What makes an audio book great?
  7. What are the pitfalls to avoid?

Once again, I am off to learn about something new related to my writing. This time, however, I am asking you, my readers, to share any thoughts you have on making audio books.

Consider leaving a comment about anything but especially about audiobooks.

Download your free copy of 10 Ways to Improve Your Writing from the link in the side column!

Coming Soon!

The Loyalist’s Wife by Elaine Cougler

7 thoughts on “Have You Ever Heard a Great Story?

  1. Kellie Kamryn, an author I met in the cyberverse, has made audio recordings of her books. I’ve always enjoyed doing cafe and library readings (lessons in broadcasting certainly haven’t hurt), so I’d certainly like to give it a go, perhaps the next step with my short releases.

    Like

    • Aha! Another glimpse into the mosaic that is Sherry Isaac! Wouldn’t that be fun to read your whole book for an audio audience? I wonder if you would need special editing software to delete the inevitable coughs, hiccups, and mispronounced words? Something to consider.

      Like

  2. Just started the same journey myself; I’m going thru ACX, Amazon’s audio book company. It’s a fairly simple matter to upload a sample of the book, choose the type of voice you want (male, female, age, etc) and then keep your fingers crossed. An interested narrator will create an audition from your sample and then you decide if it’s a good fit or not. You can either choose to pay the narrator up front and have no further obligation, or you can choose a 50/50 split on royalties. I’m chronicling my adventure on my blog, http://mjb-wordlovers.blogspot.com/2013/04/audio-books-from-page-to-ear.html.

    Like

  3. You are right Elaine, there’s nothing like listening to a story on a long trip. Especially if it’s endless miles of the same scenery, time flies. I have a couple of discs of Henry Lawson’s stories and poems. it brings back memories of the day when we used to listen to serials on the radio in England, It gives a child a good imagination.
    Laurie.

    Like

  4. I’m so excited you will be learning about audio books. I love them, and I’d love to put my upcoming novel into audio (someday). I see a ton of chat about it on the indie pub loop, but it’s so disjointed. I’m not sure if anyone has indie pubbed a how to on it. That would be very welcome! Can’t wait to learn about all of the ins and outs of audio from you!

    Like

  5. Audio books are great to listen too when I’m on watch on an overnight sail. Keeps me entertained without distracting me too much and I don’t need a light (that would ruin my night vision). I’ve never thought about actually making one, but it sounds intriguing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

