The Loyalist Trilogy Newsletter Has Broken Out!

Newletter Header

Newsletter Header

Have you ever wondered just how you are going to get yet another writing/marketing idea to come to fruition? I mean you already cram your writing bits into two-hour sessions where the world goes dark (you hope!) and you immerse yourself in the lives of those other family members, the ones in your writing.

And those hours are precious, hard to find, hard to hold tight, and put upon by all sorts of things, not the least of which is yourself playing hooky.

Yes, you just need another idea for connecting with your readers about your fictional world, don’t you?

And then along comes the suggestion that authors need to have an email list of their followers. You know, those who have bought your books and are clamoring for more. An email list? I already have a huge list on my Outlook.

Bit by bit the idea sinks in to my crowded brain that this list is something different. I start asking for email addresses from those who buy my books, from my reader friends, my ever-supportive family, the lady who recognized me as the writer on that TV show. These people love historical fiction. Gradually I collect these bits of paper until the pile starts demanding notice.

I research mail-out programs and decide on MailChimp. Just the name makes me wonder if this is really a serious venture but it is and I enter the names, decide on a newsletter format, and work my way through setting up all the details both of the newsletter and of actually working the program.

I take lots of breaks. Some a couple of weeks. Rome wasn’t…well, you know. Then one day, I have 205 names and the newsletter is done and I can’t dilly dally any longer. I push send.

Then I check my husband’s computer to see if it really worked. He didn’t know he was on the list till then. All the other names were people who had opted to be there. My husband just got lucky, I guess, as I needed a test name. He gets the newsletter! And it works. And I can see a few improvements to make next time but I am pretty happy.

You can get this 3-4 times a year update, too.

Sign up for my email list to receive my quarterly newsletter, the next issue of which will be February!

2 thoughts on “The Loyalist Trilogy Newsletter Has Broken Out!

Leave a Reply

