My Writing Process

Today is a bonus post, my writing and reading friends. The author Marta Merajver-Kurlat (http://www.martamerajver.com.ar/marta/index.php/blogroll), author of Just Toss the Ashes and Why Can’t I Make Money? among other works, invited me to participate in this blog hop tour and answer four questions about my writing process.

ALL ABOUT MY WRITING PROCESS

1) What am I working on?
The project nearest and dearest to me these days is The Loyalist’s Luck, the second in the Loyalist Trilogy. It carries on with the theme of seemingly ordinary people being forced to live in an extraordinary manner because of decisions made by those who govern them. Specifically John and Lucy Garner continue the story started in 1778 New York State when he decides to join Butler’s Rangers and fight for the King, leaving Lucy behind to try to hold on to the isolated farm in the wilds of New York State. This second book takes their story across the border and introduces several other characters who all start in a new land with nothing. The book leads up to and includes their family’s struggles in the next war, the War of 1812.
2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Historical fiction takes fictional characters and tells their story against the backdrop of history, sometimes using actual historical figures who interact with those of the author’s imagination. That being said there are many, many books on the American Revolution but very few from the point of view of the Loyalists. This makes the Loyalist Trilogy unique.
3) Why do I write what I do?
First of all I love to read historical fiction. Then the fact that I am of Loyalist descent myself makes this topic thrilling for me to research and write about. Finally I love playing with words all the while learning more and more about my craft. And the days that a new idea pops into my head as my fingers fondle the keys, those days are the absolute best. The time flies and I delight in what has appeared on my screen as I let my brain go on a wild and wondrous rampage.
4) How does your writing process work?
I’ve tried to write an outline, a plan, sample paragraphs, etc., but my brain always takes off on its own. In my research I may find a unique thought or detail from the past and suddenly my characters grab it and run. I always thought that writers’ thing about wondering who will be on the other side of the door was just so much claptrap. But, guess what? It happens and it’s unbelievably cool when it does. So my first draft is a huge eye opener for me. Following that, I revise and look up details I’ve put in red on the first draft, and I just keep revising until I love to read what I’ve written and don’t get stopped by some bit which needs tweaking. Once I’m happy with it, I enlist my editor and my beta readers to see what they pick up. I look at their suggestions and decide to use or not until, finally, I have the book I’m proud of. This all takes forever but it’s worth it. I strive for perfect. 🙂

Next step along the Blog Hop:

Sharon Clare is an author of paranormal romantic novels and lives in Ontario with her husband and three wonderful grown-up kids who come and go from the nest. She fell in love with writing at the University of Toronto where she graduated with a science degree in psychology and professional writing. She has also published short stories, art reviews, newsletter and magazine articles. Her favourite place to write is outside under the maple trees beside the trickling pond and blooming lilies. You can find her at the following links:

http://romancebeyond.com/author/sharonclare/      
sharonclare.com 

14 thoughts on “My Writing Process

  1. Hi,
    I am always amazed at what I learn from published authors. Thank you for giving me an in-depth definition of what historical fiction really is. To write such fiction takes an enormous amount of research and I can tell that you enjoy research.

    I wish you much success with the second book of your trilogy.

    All the best.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

    Like

  2. It’s very interesting how the processes of historical fiction may differ so much from others. One might think that the writer is, in a way, more constrained than those who write a different kind of fiction, yet Elaine shows us that it may be quite the opposite. There’s much to learn from her method and reasons. Thank you for sharing with us!

    Like

  3. Very interesting to read about your writing process. I agree about the use of outline plans, sample paragraphs and so on. I am writing about the same period from a simple British soldier’s standpoint. I know how the story is going to start, I know the end, but as far as how the I get from the first point to the other, let imagination range based on the research.

    Like

  4. Good description of what happens: I may find a unique thought or detail from the past and suddenly my characters grab it and run. I write a little historical fiction, too, so know how those facts, those seemingly small pieces of information, can set things in motion. On another note, althiough all of my other ancestors fought for the U.S. in the Revolution, apparently one family did not, and the father and husband joined, if memory serves me, Butler’s Rangers.

    Like

  5. Pingback: My Writing Process Blog Tour-Jessica Aspen Style | JessicaAspenWrites

Leave a Reply

