The Marketing Mix (For Authors)

blenderIn my former life I taught high school French and English but one year my timetable included Introductory Marketing. Now I had no background, no training, and–truth be told–no interest in marketing. But I could read and research and that course became a delight for me as I devised ways to make the whole thing fun.

I remember a photo in the textbook with words that make up the marketing mix printed on paper, all of them falling into a large mixing bowl. Aha! My blender in hand I headed off to school and taught that concept with my own marketing words printed on papers which I dropped into the blender on my desk, mentioning each one as I did. When they were all in the blender I poured in a little water and pressed MIX. In a swish of the contents I no longer had pieces of paper but a homogenous lumpy white and wet mixture which poured. The kids loved it and I was convinced I’d get the next perfect teacher award.

Fast forward more than a few years and I am the author of two historical fiction novels in my Loyalist Trilogy (the third is slated for October, 2016) who has learned a few great book marketing tricks. I even do presentations on my marketing mix to all and sundry. I’ve found a lot of helpful websites and newsletters to share with you.

Marketing, however, is very personal. Authors who cringe at personal appearances need to find marketing methods which better suit their personalities and those who love to be with people can tailor their marketing efforts along that line.

If you would like a list of websites that make up a small part of what I’ve found online to help with marketing my books, contact me through my website. I’d be happy to share. You are also invited to sign up for my quarterly newsletter where I share updates, ideas, and free things three or four times a year. The next one is scheduled for November.

A final note about my marketing mix lesson: When I went home I put the blender in my little hatchback and went speedily on my way. The blender tipped over and my marketing mix soaked my trunk!

For All Lovers of Historical Fiction!

The Loyalist’s Luck, Book Two in The Loyalist Trilogy!

Purchase The Loyalist’s Luck Here.

The Loyalist’s Luck_cover_apr1.indd
John and Lucy escape the Revolutionary War to the unsettled British territory across the Niagara River with almost nothing. In the untamed wilderness they must fight to survive, he, off on a secret mission for Colonel Butler and she, left behind with their young son and pregnant once again. In the camp full of distrust, hunger, and poverty, word has seeped out that John has gone over to the American side and only two people will associate with Lucy–her friend, Nellie, who delights in telling her all the current gossip, and Sergeant Crawford, who refuses to set the record straight and clear John’s name. To make matters worse, the sergeant has made improper advances toward Lucy. With John’s reputation besmirched, she must walk a thin line depending as she does on the British army, and Sergeant Crawford, for her family’s very survival.

The Loyalist’s Wife, Book One in The Loyalist Trilogy!

by Elaine Cougler, winner of the WCDR 2014 Pay It Forward Scholarship

 Short-listed for Inspire! Toronto International Book Fair’s Canada Self-Published Book Awards

The Loyalist's Wife_Kindle_1563x2500

When American colonists resort to war against Britain and her colonial attitudes, a young couple caught in the crossfire must find a way to survive. Pioneers in the wilds of New York State, John and Lucy face a bitter separation and the fear of losing everything, even their lives, when he joins Butler’s Rangers to fight for the King and leaves her to care for their isolated farm. As the war in the Americas ramps up, ruffians roam the colonies looking to snap up Loyalist land. Alone, pregnant, and fearing John is dead, Lucy must fight with every weapon she has.With vivid scenes of desperation, heroism, and personal angst, Elaine Cougler takes us back to the beginnings of one great country and the planting of Loyalist seeds for another. The Loyalist’s Wife transcends the fighting between nations to show us the individual cost of such battles.

Purchase The Loyalist’s Wife here.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

