In Praise of Libraries, Readers and Book Buyers

My wonderful local library.

My wonderful local library.

Last night I listened to a webinar for almost two hours, a feat that is pretty amazing for someone who has always loved her sleep and now needs it to start earlier in the evening rather than later. Gone are the days when my husband and I would stay up to watch Johnny Carson, get to bed around 11:30 and then rise early with kids and jobs to manage.

And so last night’s webinar had to be pretty interesting to keep me listening and even taking part with questions and comments in the appropriate space to the right of my screen. D’vorah Lansky brought us Daniel Hall and Amy Collins speaking to authors about a topic which has not been addressed often on the web–how authors can make money getting their books into libraries. Now you can check both of them out on the web and I’ve linked them to the notice I received prior to the event last night. I’m sure they’ll be presenting this again for those of you who want to hear what I heard.

It made me think about the libraries of the world and how treasured they are. You just have to go on Pinterest to see glorious pictures of libraries old and new. (That’s one board I follow!) What a fabulous gift to the world. My thoughts went further. I’m an author and go out to library book clubs to speak where the number of books I sell is actually smaller than at other speaking events. I try to remember to ask those precious readers who’ve come if they could possibly write reviews on Goodreads and Amazon to help me out. A few have done this and it really helps me expand my reach. But the idea presented last night about how to sell and rent e-books really had me writing furiously.

So I am excited about following the steps mentioned by the presenters and am even anxious to add to my work list the preparations I must make in order to do this. If you’re an author with published books or books about to be published, do some research on your own and see how this idea might help you. And if you want to hear the webcast I heard last night, click on D’vorah’s link above to find out about it. She is going to send a version to each of us who took part last night but, to be fair to the presenters, you’ll have to source this out yourself from those whose work it is.

And when you’re in the library please ask for my books: The Loyalist’s Wife, The Loyalist’s Luck, and next fall The Loyalist Legacy.

 

For All Lovers of Historical Fiction!

The Loyalist’s Luck, Book Two in The Loyalist Trilogy!

Purchase The Loyalist’s Luck Here.

The Loyalist’s Luck_cover_apr1.indd
John and Lucy escape the Revolutionary War to the unsettled British territory across the Niagara River with almost nothing. In the untamed wilderness they must fight to survive, he, off on a secret mission for Colonel Butler and she, left behind with their young son and pregnant once again. In the camp full of distrust, hunger, and poverty, word has seeped out that John has gone over to the American side and only two people will associate with Lucy–her friend, Nellie, who delights in telling her all the current gossip, and Sergeant Crawford, who refuses to set the record straight and clear John’s name. To make matters worse, the sergeant has made improper advances toward Lucy. With John’s reputation besmirched, she must walk a thin line depending as she does on the British army, and Sergeant Crawford, for her family’s very survival.

The Loyalist’s Wife, Book One in The Loyalist Trilogy!

by Elaine Cougler, winner of the WCDR 2014 Pay It Forward Scholarship

 Short-listed for Inspire! Toronto International Book Fair’s Canada Self-Published Book Awards

The Loyalist's Wife_Kindle_1563x2500

When American colonists resort to war against Britain and her colonial attitudes, a young couple caught in the crossfire must find a way to survive. Pioneers in the wilds of New York State, John and Lucy face a bitter separation and the fear of losing everything, even their lives, when he joins Butler’s Rangers to fight for the King and leaves her to care for their isolated farm. As the war in the Americas ramps up, ruffians roam the colonies looking to snap up Loyalist land. Alone, pregnant, and fearing John is dead, Lucy must fight with every weapon she has.With vivid scenes of desperation, heroism, and personal angst, Elaine Cougler takes us back to the beginnings of one great country and the planting of Loyalist seeds for another. The Loyalist’s Wife transcends the fighting between nations to show us the individual cost of such battles.

Purchase The Loyalist’s Wife here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

