Planning A Goodreads Giveaway

our new carEvery time I decide to up my ante in Sell-My-Book poker I seem to run into yet another learning curve. For those of us in our fifties at the dawning of the new millennium, negotiating those treacherous roads to new and better exposure for our books and brand can be exhausting, if not downright impossible.

Take my WordPress blog, for example. Before Christmas I decided I wanted a new blog look and was even prepared to move away from the free stuff to get more functionality. Learning curve: Making sure I get all the bells and whistles I need without driving my beleaguered brain right over a cliff. I’m still trying to figure it all out and one of these days I will. For the moment, though, finishing my rough draft of The Loyalist Legacy (Book 3) has to be my priority. (More on that next week!)

Last Friday I decided to do a Goodreads Giveaway as a lead-up to launching my new book in November. I received an acceptance email with a link to my giveaway and the java script to insert on my blog. This would take readers to the Goodreads contest with a simple click of the finger. No one told me, though, that WordPress, that huge host of more blogs than Pebble Beach has grains of sand, doesn’t accept links with java script. Now, that’s not coffee, folks, but most of us have no idea what java is and our abilities stop at cutting and pasting said script into the right place. When it doesn’t work, we’re scuppered.

So, here’s the thing. I love WordPress and I love Goodreads but I’d love them both even more if they got over their infighting and made their platforms fully integrational. (Is that even a word?) Take pity on those of us who just want to write and to get our words out to as large an audience as can sit in our blog theaters.

Problem Solved? With my computer guru son off on a much-needed holiday, I’ve decided to simply use a link on my post. Whether it will work on Friday is anyone’s guess but if it doesn’t I’ll find another way to connect you all–my favorite readers–to the place where you can enter the contest and hopefully win a print copy of The Loyalist’s Wife just in time to gift to your favorite reader for their spring vacation. I promise. Cross my heart.

If you can’t wait, click here for Amazon alternatives. You’ll get the book(s) much quicker.

Elaine Cougler’s website: www.elainecougler.com

Make this author happy. Write a review on Goodreads or Amazon. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Planning A Goodreads Giveaway

  1. I wish you the best with the giveaway. And thanks for the heads-up on the java script thing. I did not know that. I can certainly feel your frustration. I’m in my 50s and trying to figure out the best way to launch my new spice business on the Internet (and still get in any writing time). There are about a billion options and they all scare me to death. Lots of deep breaths and hair pulling and walking in circles our of anxiety, but I will get this done, one baby step at a time..

    So good luck again. I hope you sell a ton of books and your launch goes great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi habisha! So good to see you here. And thanks for commenting. I wish you well with both your writing and your new endeavor. Be brave. Go for it. The worst that can happen is we blow up our computers, eh?

      Like

      • Absolutely, or pitch them out the windows or into the ocean, ala Romancing the Stone. Of course, we’d have everything all properly backed up before we did such a rash act; that way we could retrieve all our hard work! LOL.

        Do you remember the old days of typewriters, when we would insert a sheet of copy paper between two pieces of good cotton bond? I knew someone who burned her original draft — but saved the copy because she just couldn’t completely part with the story and she was already in the middle and, well, cotton bond was expensive! It made me laugh and explained a great deal about writers.

        I imagine in the end we’ll get it right. Deep breaths and back we go at it.

        Deb

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

